Clouds

4RNB

Line Up and Wait
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
4RNB
I’m a very low time pilot. Saw these from the ground, are they lenticular, indicative of mountain waves? If so, how far out from them does one stay? Thanks.25F9739F-4411-4F19-BD92-27AADC7E118B.jpeg187D7310-D57A-49BE-BC38-1843988B1AB5.jpeg61588F2F-4D03-45FA-9ABC-206C4F609C1E.jpeg

Attachments

• 97D38F33-8491-4F6B-B180-A9DAC891146C.jpeg
    97D38F33-8491-4F6B-B180-A9DAC891146C.jpeg
    214.7 KB · Views: 166
None of those clouds would scare me or really appear to be wave, at least to me. Not that cloud identification is a topic I claim any sort of knowledge.

Regarding how far one should stay from mountain wave I think much depends on the climb rate ability of the aircraft you are flying. I would be much more cautious in a C-150 than the airplane pictured in my avatar. Typically I try to stay 2000 feet above the peak or ridge I am approaching.

Lenticular clouds would be smaller, I think, and more clearly shaped like a lens. I am no expert, but I've always associated lenticular clouds with the Rocky Mountains. I am sure you can get some interesting winds and turbulence from the Appalachians, but, depending on your airplane, you may be able to easily climb way above that.

Thanks everyone.

I would call them Lenticulars. Wave By itself is usually pretty smooth. The Sailplanes like to park in the upwind side of them reach some very High altitudes in a smooth air climb.

The last Video below demonstrate that Clouds are not a requirement for Wave or Rotor, I haven't watched it in detail but it appears to be a very good tutorial on Mountain Wave and Rotor. at 10:39 he flies out of the Rotor into the Laminar smooth wave.
I have frequently used Wave to improve my climb rate when flying Skydivers.

I suspect you are looking at some pretty low velocity wave action with not a lot of turbulence. Where you will find the Turbulence is pretty much directly underneath them in the form Rotor.