Clearance Delivery through the Bravo via VFR

Jason608

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Jason608
I have been flying IFR (training) for the last 4 months and swear I forgot how to fly VFR. Crap.
I need to take off tomorrow from a Delta airport, circle for ten minutes waiting for a Bravo clearance. Can I instead call Clearance Delivery, get a squawk code and bust through the Bravo via VFR!?

Call and see. They may have a LOA (Letter of Agreement) between the two facilities.

Can you request flight following and have them coordinate traversing Class Bravo airspace?

Maybe I can just call CD, say I'm an IFR student, on my way to my IFR check ride, would like to practice IFR through the Bravo while practicing filing IFR flight plans. :)

Why do you need to circle for 10 minutes? Where are you flying out of?
Out of Deer Valley KDVT, AZ. I can just take off south, stay under the Bravo, get clearance and go. But since now I have been exposed to what I can do with IFR , while encompassed by the Bravo Phoenix overlord, I want clearance before taking off and not have to deal with the step ups downs that are the airspaces.

So what's the big issue here? The Class D should be able to coordinate it on the ground. As previously mentioned, try calling for FF and request a Bravo transition.

Yeah, Phoenix Class B can sometimes be not very..... ahhhh..... accommodating to VFR pilots.

And yes, I failed my first IFR checkride on the NDB approach. We did everything else, so all I had to do on the re-ride was one NDB approach, which we did to the missed approach point. Then VFR back to the home airport and land. Ok.... uh.... How do I make a VFR landing? I was thinking I was going to be the very first pilot to fail the instrument checkride on a VFR landing......:lol::lol::lol: