Cleaning Stains off fabric

RayRice2

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Ray with the 47 Cub
Hi, I'm an 800 hr bonanza pilot, with a new to me 1947 cub. I'm new to fabric aircraft. I just got the cub, it sat with bird poop on it for a year. After washing it with dawn, the poop is gone and the plane is clean, but the stains remain. see the photos. Poop on, and poop off, stains remain.

ALSO - there were lots of birds living in the tail section. I pulled all the nest debris but it has some poop and dirt. Can I hose out the inside of the tail?

site won't let me post the pictures because I'm new. Ill try in a bit
SO,
Help with stains?
Hose out the tail?

I know nothing about any of that....
but I would speculate that since it's all an unknown quantity to you...I would assume that the nests and poop had been inside the tail for a long time.... and therefore there could be a corrosion issue happening in there. I'd think that you'd want to have someone open up that area for a really good look-see.

The Birds moved in late April of 2022 and stayed until August or September. Thats when they went south somewhere. Probably Florida, with all the other snowbirds. They came back in Mid-April of 2023. I helped the previous owner evict them and clean up the inside space in May of 2023. I think it was a late rent issue. Anyway, after that, there have been no more renters. However, others have visited and roosted above the Cub and left lots of evidence of their stay. So, the mess inside was there for 13 months.
After pulling everything out I could get my arm to, I used a shop-vac and vacuumed the inside. I used a scope to get a good look and there is no evidence of corrosion, but there is still some nest material, poop crust on the fabric and debris that can't be reached. I want to remove all of that and have a clean fuselage. So, what do YOU think? Should I hose it out and in doing so, get the untreated side of the fabric wet, or just leave it in there?