Class G airspace question

JimNtexas

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Jim - In Texas!
In this image I've marked an area in the Big Bend of Texas as 'G to 14500 msl'. Am I correct?

ObZhe68.png

Yes. There are very few of these areas left of any size.

So "enjoy" it while it lasts? I guess?

Up until literally just a few years ago you could trace a line of the 14,500 G airspace down from North Dakota over to the Rockies and down to Mexico.

Thanks, I'm studying for the CFI-A oral, and wanted to come up with examples of the different flavors of G.

IMG_0391.PNG Here's another example, between Death Valley and the Nevada Test Site. There are several different G ceilings.

When I was studying for my CFI I had another CFI tell me he didn't know what that area was. He trained out of Chicago area.

When I was studying for my CFI I had another CFI tell me he didn't know what that area was. He trained out of Chicago area.
There are still things here and there on sectionals which are either not too well documented or so uncommon they have pilot scratching their heads. CFIs are no exception.

There are still things here and there on sectionals which are either not too well documented or so uncommon they have pilot scratching their heads. CFIs are no exception.
Like the good ol' days when the FAA disavowed any knowlege of TRSAs, bun they were still on the charts? ;)

I suppose if you're insane you could fly IMC in there without talking to anyone.
Is the converse also true, that if you file IFR you will have to choose a route around that area (or above 14,500 across it) to remain in controlled airspace?

Is the converse also true, that if you file IFR you will have to choose a route around that area (or above 14,500 across it) to remain in controlled airspace?
Yes, if you want a clearance and ATC services. Otherwise, you just operate according to the rules on your own. A flight plan for SAR purposes is a good idea.