Class Bravo PHX Questions

dtbecker

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
dtbecker
Hello,

I'm a recent Private Pilot and just have a few questions. These are scenarios that I have just thought of for training purposes and help me learn more (I'm not going to actually fly it). This is regarding the Phoenix Class Bravo airspace overlying Phoenix Sky Harbor (KPHX).

1) Phoenix Approach has designated multiple Approach/Departure frequencies based on the heading. First, is this true course? Or is this a magnetic heading in the Chart Supplement? Also, the Chart Supplement lists specific altitudes, so does this mean I need to be at these altitudes before contacting approach?

2) Can you get permission to fly the VFR Transition route and clearance into the Class Bravo on a single transmission? Lets say I were to go from Phoenix Deer Valley (KDVT) to Chandler Municipal (KCHD) (with the Bravo transition).

I'm just mainly confused because there are multiple approach/departure frequencies.

Magnetic course.

Don't worry too much about the frequency. They'll switch you if you are on the wrong one.

Magnetic course.

Don't worry too much about the frequency. They'll switch you if you are on the wrong one.

Oh interesting. What about the altitudes? The Chart Supplement says "Below 7,500" or "7,500-12,500". If I find a frequency that corresponds to my magnetic course, but not my altitude, then do I still use that frequency? I know I'm probably overthinking this.

Agreed about the frequencies. Just raise them on one that works and is roughly appropriate to the area.

To request the transition you should be in the air and on frequency with approach. It usually involves multiple transmissions.