Can I decide where I’m based out of?

Audrey Dana

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Audrey
Im currently a pilot in training and the end goal is to work as a commercial pilot. I understand that I need to take what I can get, but would i be able to pick where I’m based out of?

The few pilots I know are are based out of larger cities, like ORD (Chicago) and ATL (Atlanta). Do I just accept what is given or can I put in what I’d prefer? I am hoping to be based out of a larger city.

It’s based on seniority. First base assignment will be the company’s most junior base and then you climb the ladder from there.

It is all by seniority bid, but many people commute. Some commute completely across the country. That *may not* work out well during your probationary period depending upon company policy.

Here you go. Swayne does an excellent job with his videos. He's documented the commuting vs inbase living, reserve vs line holders, and a few other things while getting started with Envoy. His past videos are pretty good as well.

Brian

It all depends on what type of commercial pilot you want to be.

If it’s Part 121, then what our highly experienced expert airline guys in the first couple of replies said is true.

If it’s another type of commercial pilot job, not so much. You need to define what you mean by commercial pilot.

Im currently a pilot in training and the end goal is to work as a commercial pilot. I understand that I need to take what I can get, but would i be able to pick where I’m based out of?

The few pilots I know are are based out of larger cities, like ORD (Chicago) and ATL (Atlanta). Do I just accept what is given or can I put in what I’d prefer? I am hoping to be based out of a larger city.

Commercial pilot or airline pilot? Two similar but different things.

Bob