Birmingham 6 Departure

mulligan

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Mulligan
I have been flying out of KBHM for 2 years now and have never been given a departure procedure. The other day I got the shortest clearance I have ever gotten. It kind of caught me off guard but I actually liked how short and simple it was.

The clearance was basically verbatim -> Cleared to KBTR Direct via Birmingham 6, Squawk 71XX. That was it. Short and simple. So I went to program the G1000 and selected the Departure which asked me for a transition. Well I wasn't given a transition, I was just given Birmingham 6 which would mean Runway Heading, then vectors so I forgo the Departure in the G1000 and look up the Departure Procedure. Nothing special there, just climb mins and max altitude of 4,000. So basically I can fly any altitude between 1,800 and 4,000? That is the only part I was unclear on. The Departure Frequency was readily available on the procedure and it sure made read=back and instructions easier. I wish I got more DP's so I could get more experience and be more comfortable with them.

Climb all the way to 4000'. If they wanted a different altitude, they would have made that part of the clearance.

EDIT: also, it's probably good practice to think about the specific headings as depicted on the DP, as opposed to just assuming they're runway heading. I mean, you're right in this case and in many (most?) cases this is true, and in many places tower will assign a heading regardless, but it'll help keep you out of trouble in the off chance they're different and you miss it.

Last edited:
Don't know about the 1,800 ft part. I don't see that as a published altitude. Since the DP contains a top altitude of 4,000 ft, you go to that after the initial climb to get above terrain, then expect a vector on course. Most likely, you'll never see 4,000 anyway unless that's what you filed for. Unless they're extremely busy, ATC should give you higher soon after departure.