Avionics advice?

Brandon Wyant

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Brandon12313
Hi All. I am looking at buying a Baron 55 or Piper Seminole. I will be using it for X-country from Omaha to Cleveland every week as well as using it for time building, multi-engine, and ifr training. I am new to aviation and am having a hard time coming up with a list of avionics/other equipment (ie de-icing boots) that I am needing/wanting. Does anyone know of good resources to get an idea? What would you feel is necessary to have?

You need to define a budget for a more accurate recommendations

How new to aviation are you? I ask because the twin engine discussion is one of those things that can be you don't know what you don't know. Maintenance and insurance are the 2 big ones.

You’re starting your investigation and assessment. Part of that will be flying in and behind various equipment. A really good resource would be flying a few cross countries using IFR with another pilot or with a CFI with various equipped rentals. Start your instrument rating.

Otherwise, read and watch vids, and ask on forums like you’re doing.

Minimum is a good autopilot (new is good, old may also be OK) and a newer GPS navigator (Garmin or Avidyne).

Don’t buy a project plane. You can buy an older functional one and take lessons and upgrade as needed, but you’ll be in the shop for a while and grounded for far too long. If you want to fly now, buy the best.

Thank you for your response! The flight school I am currently going to for my PPL only has 150s and 172s, do you think an IFR cross country would translate well in terms of the equipment?

I was first leaning towards buying a project plane but I soon realized that I would be going down a never ending rabbit hole of research, money and time.

How new to aviation are you? I ask because the twin engine discussion is one of those things that can be you don't know what you don't know. Maintenance and insurance are the 2 big ones.