APPROACH DESCENT RATE - GLIDE SLOPE

navigator44

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Navigator44
I am just beginning study for the Instrument written. My question is: at 90 knots, would 500 FPM be about right for the glide slope? I think most glide slopes are pitched at about 3 degrees. Is this correct?

Is there any chart available that shows various descent rates at various approach speeds? One I coluld placard to the instrument panel?

Thanks
Jim

I am just beginning study for the Instrument written. My question is: at 90 knots, would 500 FPM be about right for the glide slope? I think most glide slopes are pitched at about 3 degrees. Is this correct?

Is there any chart available that shows various descent rates at various approach speeds? One I coluld placard to the instrument panel?

Thanks
Jim

If you look in the front of the IR test figures book, there is a table of speed and descent rate for various glide slope values. I forget the number but it covers the whole page. You can use during the test. The glide slope is shown on the IAP.

Cheers

And at 90 Kts ground speed (not air speed) 500 fpm is going to be close.

If you look in the front of the IR test figures book, there is a table of speed and descent rate for various glide slope values. I forget the number but it covers the whole page. You can use during the test. The glide slope is shown on the IAP.

Cheers

It's also on the inside back cover of FAA approach chart booklets.

Or you can use trig:
sin(3) * 90 = 4.71 knots * (6076ft/nm) / (60min/hr) = 477fpm

Or use the rule of thumb:
divide Knots GS by 2 and add a zero, 90kts => ~450fpm

Last edited:
And at 90 Kts ground speed (not air speed) 500 fpm is going to be close.