Any recommendations for training when your airplane is FIKI equipped?

AggieMike88

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
Tomorrow's forecasts for Groundhog Day here in DFW are going to be an arctic cold front hitting mid-morning, precipitation happening mid-afternoon, turning into freezing rain, sleet, and maybe snow overnight.

These weather events got paired up in my mind with my commercial pilot gig flying doctors from the KADS/KTKI to KPRX and a few other spots. The airplane is not equipped for FIKI.

But the question I came up with is, what if it was?

In addition to reading up on whatever FIKI systems my mythical airplane would have (knowing what they are, how they work, limitations, etc), is it prudent to have any specific training? Ground only? Flight too?

I have zero experience with ice. All I know is the general book stuff.

What about some flight time with the right instructor to practice procedures? So if I did get caught in it, I have better experience/knowledge on how to get out of trouble.

It’s really hard to do any worthwhile “simulation” of ice or icing. I fly a few FIKI aircraft and have several clients with them, and the question has come up before. Unfortunately, the only real answer is you get experience when you get it. You can read all the book information (and you should), but when it gets right down to it, short of actually intentionally seeking out icing conditions, you’re stuck with not seeing it until you see it.