Amended route, then as filed

DanielH

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Daniel
I am an IFR rated pilot and have been flying IFR regularly for the last several years. All of my flights though have been in and out of relatively uncomplicated airspace, mostly class D and C.

When listening to liveatc.net or clearance delivery I often hear the controller give (usually to jets) an amended route that commonly sounds like "Cleared to XYZ via ABC DEF then as filed". My question is, where do you pick up the filed route?

The last fix of the amended route will be part of the filed flight plan. It's resumed there.

It's as simple as that

Tex

I loved my first instrument flight.
Filed a perfectly reasonable route.
Called for clearance and was given another.
Got in the air, radar contact, new route, ready to copy?
Sure? Hey wait, this is what I filed for originally.

Every time I go from HKY to CJR, long about ROA I get a "We have a new route for you, advise when ready to copy."
I tell them I'm ready and they say "5327K is cleared direct to Culpeper." Great, I needed to copy that one down?

I write down everything, including altitudes up and down. Partly so I don't forget-- did he say "descend 4000" or "descend 5000"? I'm busy doing other things, it's nice to glance down at the reminder.

I loved my first instrument flight.
Filed a perfectly reasonable route.
Called for clearance and was given another.
Got in the air, radar contact, new route, ready to copy?
Sure? Hey wait, this is what I filed for originally.

Every time I go from HKY to CJR, long about ROA I get a "We have a new route for you, advise when ready to copy."
I tell them I'm ready and they say "5327K is cleared direct to Culpeper." Great, I needed to copy that one down?