Airline hiring

mjgeorge99

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Firebird
How is the hiring going on for some of the people working 121 carriers?

No word back from apps for months, probably a good dozen apps. I have some 135 PIC experience (Piston only) and about 1300 hours (1000hr RATP eligible from ERAU, meet all flight experience). My co-worker from Delta said it has slowed big time and Jet Blue co-workers said hiring is halted. Most of my friend have gotten hired but pretty quiet from my end. Thankfully I do have a comfortable CFI and charter job where I work.

I have a few friends that have just crossed the threshold and have started getting rejection letters. Looks like direct hire captains are needed but I think the FO lines are pretty long right now.

I have a few friends that have just crossed the threshold and have started getting rejection letters. Looks like direct hire captains are needed but I think the FO lines are pretty long right now.
Ok, I haven’t even gotten rejection letters just the “we will consider your application and contact you if we have interest, etc..”

Industry goes through ups and downs though, took me a good year to find my first CFI job from COVID

Ok, I haven’t even gotten rejection letters just the “we will consider your application and contact you if we have interest, etc..”

Industry goes through ups and downs though, took me a good year to find my first CFI job from COVID
Specifically, it looks like Envoy is tapping the brakes.
Wheels up still seems to be scooping up first officers.

In these parts, Envoy looks like the best first gig if you can get it.

this sounds a little far fetched

Yes, that is what I've heard as well from a few folks who in the last few months started applying in earnest. Phones are silent. Word is they have all the FO's they need, although as mentioned they need captains.

this sounds a little far fetched
Tis true.