Aera 560 needed?

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Skyrys62, Jan 18, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Skyrys62

    Skyrys62 En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,543
    Location:
    hopefully not at work

    Display name:
    Meet the Fokkers
    I have a Garmin 430waas GPS, panel mounted Aera 560, and also have stratux/iPad.
    The 560 is kind of nice, and is coupled to the 430w, but I really never use the 560 and really want the panel space.

    I don't know a lot about the 560 and wonder with the 430w and the iPad, is there really a good function for it?
    If the 430 failed, would it still function properly? (I know it's not certified for IFR)..but I don't know how it's connected with the 430 regarding GPS signal, etc. There is a small puck up in the windscreen that I believe is an antenna, but not sure if it's GPS or XM.

    I've also thought about removing the Gizmo panel mount, and use a yoke mount instead. However, I don't want to keep paying XM updates, and map updates (on top of the 430) if the iPad/stratux is really just as good.

    Thoughts, experiences?
    Is there a market for it if I do remove it?
     
  2. chemgeek

    chemgeek En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,764

    Display name:
    chemgeek
    The 430 does not affect how the Aera operates. A typical connection between them is a data feed where the 430 sends its flight plan to the Aera. This is how my Aera 210 is hard wired. I'm using mine primarily to display XM WX data. So far for me XM WX has been more reliable than FIS-B weather via ADS-B. XM also displays more ground WX stations than ADS-B, including my home airport. I wouldn't probably install another one new, but I've had my Aera for a while so I continue to use it to provide independent weather data. Mine is mounted on a bracket on the canopy bow. I don't like putting stuff on the yoke anymore. Too clumsy, and potentially interferes with yoke movement.
     
  3. mondtster

    mondtster En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,511

    Display name:
    mondtster
    I'm guessing the Aera's primary use was to provide XM weather, which is what the antenna should be for too. With a panel mounted IFR GPS installed, I'd just remove it if you want the space for something else and you aren't using it.

    As far as demand goes, I'm sure someone would be interested in it for the right price but I doubt it will bring a ton of money.
     
  4. mondtster

    mondtster En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4,511

    Display name:
    mondtster
    Interesting. I would have said the same thing a few years ago when I was primarily getting my weather from the original Stratus. Either the service has gotten a lot better or the newer Garmin equipment I'm mainly using now is better, because I've flown over a large portion of the central US at low levels with excellent reception now. What receiver are you using?
     
  5. chemgeek

    chemgeek En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,764

    Display name:
    chemgeek
    I'm using and NGT-9000 for ADS-B in. In the northeast, I've noticed days where the Nexrad reception has been irregular. The XM WX has never skipped a beat. When they are both working, they look quite similar, but you can get XM on the ground. XM has far more airports in its METAR/AWOS stream than ADS-B. Eventually, I will probably ditch the Aera and XM when I'm satisfied with the reliability of FIS-B. THe Aera is mainly an emergency GPS an WX backup for now.
     
    Skyrys62 and mondtster like this.
  6. WDD

    WDD En-Route

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2019
    Messages:
    4,716
    Location:
    Atlanta / KRYY

    Display name:
    Vintage Snazzy (so my adult children say)
    The only thing I can think of is to replace the 560 with a 660 or 760. You'll get a high definition, sunlight readable screen vs what you have with the 560 display, and make up for the low resolution 430 display. Use it for moving map, traffic, overlap approach plates, etc. Could be light years ahead of the 560 in terms of screen resolution.
     
  7. Skyrys62

    Skyrys62 En-Route

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,543
    Location:
    hopefully not at work

    Display name:
    Meet the Fokkers
    That's pretty much how I've seen it, and do hate to just remove it....indeed it has been rock solid.
    Regarding the upgrade, I agree it would be better. I just really want the panel space right now, and might move the 560 either to the yoke, if not too clumsy, or over to the passenger side panel. Pending wiring length being sufficient.
    Appreciate the feedback and information so far..