ADSB question / collisions

Ben2k9

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Ben2k9
1. If everybody had ADSB, wouldn’t ALL traffic show up on everyone else’s nav/com? Wouldn’t collisions become more of a thing of the past?

2. If #1 is correct, why the resistance to getting ASDB installed among some pilots? Simply a cost thing?

I’m new to all this, but seems like a safety no-brainer. Can’t imagine flying now without ADSB traffic and weather in.

1. ADSB is not required in all airspace around the country.
2. I will never install ADSB in my Champ.

some people still think NORDO is acceptable. I hear what you're saying, but as smarter and safer as it would be, not everyone is onboard and I understand their objections. but yeah, it would be nice if we at least had a blip per plane. the tracking, not so much.

There is still a lag in the information being captured, computed, sent to the ground towers, transmitted to the properly equipped aircraft, and displayed on screen (MFD or Tablet).

The Mark 1 eyeball still rules the day.

1. If everybody had ADSB, wouldn’t ALL traffic show up on everyone else’s nav/com? Wouldn’t collisions become more of a thing of the past?

2. If #1 is correct, why the resistance to getting ASDB installed among some pilots? Simply a cost thing?

I’m new to all this, but seems like a safety no-brainer. Can’t imagine flying now without ADSB traffic and weather in.

You need ADS-B In to see other traffic, and ADS-B In is much more expensive than out.

It's not foolproof, but it is pretty good. There are circumstances where the ADS-B tower won't send or receive information very well, so an aircraft may drop off the screen for a moment.

why the resistance to getting ASDB installed among some pilots?
Frequently the cost of the devices, plus the speed at which the tech is developing and becoming available. What you purchase during 2019 might be made obsolete with a less expensive product two to three years later.

It helps, but...