A tale of two CFIs: Logging PIC time in HP Complex

ArnoldPalmer

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
ArnoldPalmer
Title was inspired by another thread on PoA.

So.. am working towards my commercial ticket and have had a few flights in a Cessna 182RG to get the complex requirements done.

I am also a member of the CAP, and have been working towards getting my mission quals, flying a Cessna 182 (no retract).

I've had 2 flights in each aircraft. Now I don't have a HP or Complex endorsement. The CAP instructor after looking up AOPA and the Herman LoI is of the opinion that I can log this time as PIC time.

My commercial and 182RG instructor differs on this. Showed him AOPA opinion and the LOI. He says I cannot log PIC time. He also says if I was a safety pilot for someone under the hood flying a 182RG, I could log they safety pilot time as PiC time.

Confusing. What is your opinion?

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

“Two flights in each aircraft” doing what exactly? Receiving logged instruction from a CFI?

You may not ACT as PIC in an aircraft that requires the complex endorsement.

FAA has been pretty clear that ACTing as PIC and LOGging of PIC are completely separate in the regs.

You may LOG PIC time if the aircraft requires two pilots or the operation being conducted does, and you are rated in category and class, and when you are sole manipulator of the controls.

However saying you “went flying” isn’t enough information for us to know if the flight you took was a flight operation requiring two pilots.

Were the flights with a CFI and documented correctly in your logbook as training?

You may simultaneously log PIC and dual received if you are rated in the aircraft (category and class), are the sole manipulator of the controls, and are receiving flight instruction.

The CFI will be also logging it as PIC per regulation allowing that, and also will be Acting PIC, since you don’t have the endorsement they’re training you for.