2nd Time around...the pattern (My Commercial Checkride story)

neilw2

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Neil W
It all started about 8.5 months ago. My wife told me the good news- we are expecting our first child. I was beyond excited about it, but I knew that being the future father I want to be I won't have a ton of time for training once the new one arrived. So that day I decided I was going to get my commercial cert before she arrived.

I own a business and work alot anyways so it was hard to find the time to study and fly, but I was able to thanks to my wife and a ton of work. I studied for and passed my written by the end of January, which initiated my flight training.

My strongest suite is definitely IFR flight so training for my commercial was not the easiest thing for me. Learning the maneuvers and transitioning back to VFR stuff took some time. Also being the winter in New England didn't help me move faster through the training either.

It all came to the point where a month or so ago my instructor and I felt I was ready. I scheduled with the DPE and took my initial test last week.

Oral was easy as I was almost over prepared for it. DPE commented afterwards it was one of the best orals he has had in a while (slid that line in to see if anybody is still reading) :)

I did well with my Chandelles, slow flight, steep turns, and 8s on pylon. I did these all in my plane (C-182) and landed un-eventfully. Changed planes to the Arrow for the traffic pattern stuff. All landings and takoffs were good. DPE says, "Give me a 180 power off landing and we are all done!" My traffic pattern was larger than I usually fly and the Arrow just doesn't glide like my 182 so unfortunately I didn't make the runway without adding power- no 2nd chances on this one so I failed attempt #1