Zero to 200 hours

DesertNomad

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
DesertNomad
I passed 200 hours today in my own airplane on my first flight (in the new airplane) without my CFI riding along.

Just some stats on the journey:

First flight: 4/17/2012
Total hours: 200 (plus about 30 hours in Africa that I can't log)
Total cost $32,726 ($163.39/hr including dual time, check ride etc.).
Total landings: 453
Number of airports: 25
Number of states: 6
Number of countries: 1 (plus 5 in Africa that I can't log)
Number of airplanes: 18
Number of types: 10

The Africa stuff was with a friend who did not have a South African CFI... I was a student and we were in a South African registered airplane.

Looking forward to the next 200 hours. :)

I passed 200 hours today in my own airplane on my first flight (in the new airplane) without my CFI riding along.

Just some stats on the journey:

First flight: 4/17/2012
Total hours: 200 (plus about 30 hours in Africa that I can't log)
Total cost $32,726 ($163.39/hr including dual time, check ride etc.).
Total landings: 453
Number of airports: 25
Number of states: 6
Number of countries: 1 (plus 5 in Africa that I can't log)
Number of airplanes: 18
Number of types: 10

The Africa stuff was with a friend who did not have a South African CFI... I was a student and we were in a South African registered airplane.

Looking forward to the next 200 hours. :)

I'd double check the Africa stuff.

From a related link:

Yes, it counts: the FAA doesn't care where flying hours are accumulated provided that the US written and/or practical test requirements are met. I learned to fly in South Africa then applied for an unrestricted FAA license (i.e. not a foreign based license). The FSDO told me that I could count all my time in SA (cross-countries, night flights etc.) towards the FAA license requirements, but I would still have to pass the FAA written and practical tests like any other student pilot.