Yes, Virginia, there is hope!!!

Bill

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
This page intentionally left blank
Up to Saturday, my wife has gone flying with me exactly three times since I've been a pilot (over 2 years now), and really didn't like the experience a bit. Frankly, she was scared silly.

So Saturday, we were going to take the 182 to HXD, but MX killed that, and the other planes were booked. But, mid-day, one pilot cancelled his slot on the 172, giving us about 1:15 to fit in a quick local flight. Sherry said yes!

About 2 miles from the airport, she asks if we'd like to go to a park instead. "You don't want to go," I ask, "No." Now, let me tell you. All through these 2 years, I've been very good about the no go decision, always taking it in stride, "That's OK, we'll go when you're ready," etc.

But, this time, something snapped and I wigged out. "I can't believe it, you did it again! The most perfect day of the year, and you don't want to go." Silence. Then she says, "You're still headed towards the airport." "Yes", I say, "We still have to go get on the computer and release our reservation in case another member wants the plane." Silence. Finally, "OK, lets go!"

And go we did, and this time, she actually looked out the window. It was great fun pointing out local sights from the air. We flew up the TN river to 2A0, where I entered the pattern and did a landing on 03. Taxi back, depart, and fly the river back to CHA. As we approached it was close to 3pm, so we ended the flight and got the plane back with 6 minutes to spare.

She really enjoyed the flight this time, and wished we could have stayed out longer. She couldn't believe we had been airborne for an hour, and wants to try again. Says Sherry, "I think I might be over the hump on this one!"

Hurrrah!

The member who had the plane booked for 3pm never showed up and never did release his reservation. Grrrrrrr.......