Who needs an 8130?

FORANE

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
FORANE
An 8130 form is also known as a "yellow tag", correct?
Who needs one?

I am selling a Garmin 430 I removed from my Lancair and received a question emailed from a guy in Italy asking if I had an 8130 form. I am not very familiar with them and just wondered when they are required and when they are just nice to have.

I'm no expert here, but if you had gotten your 430 repaired you would have an 8130-3. I don't think new avionics come with the form. It's an approval of airwortiness/return to service form. For aircraft components, which have been repaired, and/or tested, and found to meet the airworthiness criteria for that component. So you probably don't have one with your 430. But you can drop it off at the radio shop, and have it tested, and get one If you really need it to make the sale. But it will co$t you whatever the shop charges in testing fees.

Last edited:
An 8130 form is also known as a "yellow tag", correct?
Who needs one?

I am selling a Garmin 430 I removed from my Lancair and received a question emailed from a guy in Italy asking if I had an 8130 form. I am not very familiar with them and just wondered when they are required and when they are just nice to have.

The answer, as with all "I need a ... to buy your gear" is that the item works as advertized and if you need an 8130 (or yellow tag, or conformance inspection, or overhaul, or ...) is that the negotiated price will have the cost of the required paperwork tacked on.

Jim

An 8130-3 is simply a different form of a log entry. New parts frequently come with them too, and it will say "NEW" or "MANUFACTURED" in block 11. For units that were serviced in some way, "MODIFIED", "TESTED", "ALTERED", "OVERHAULED" or "REPAIRED" are common. If you sent it out for a battery replacement it would likely be called "REPAIRED" with the battery replacement listed in block 12.