When can you say you have the airport in sight?

vince

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Vince
I'm new to all of this and was wondering something. If you're on an IFR flight plan and you're coming into an uncontrolled airport and you're below the ceiling VFR and the controller told you to report when you can see the airport, is it okay to say you can see it if you're not quite sure if you can see it yet? But you know it must be out there? Or is that when you ask for a contact approach?

When you see the airport.

Was coming into St Louis some years ago, overheard another pilot report to approach "I think I have the airport in sight", approach's reply "call me again when you know you have the airport in sight".

They want you to have the airport in sight, not think you have the airport in sight

I'm new to all of this and was wondering something. If you're on an IFR flight plan and you're coming into an uncontrolled airport and you're below the ceiling VFR and the controller told you to report when you can see the airport, is it okay to say you can see it if you're not quite sure if you can see it yet? But you know it must be out there? Or is that when you ask for a contact approach?

A controller cannot clear you for a visual approach nor can you accept a visual approach if you do not have the airport in sight.

You cannot report having the airport in sight unless you have the airport in sight.

New airport? When I actually have it in sight. Home drome? It's down in a little valley, surrounded by other ridges. One has to be almost on top of it to see it, so I call "airport in sight" when it is to my best advantage on arrival.