What's the benefit of the 912iS over the 912ULS?

kicktireslightfires

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
kicktireslightfires
I'm a student pilot and haven't even flown a FADEC yet so my knowledge is purely theoretical so please be kind. Just trying to learn! The way I understand it is that the 912iS is both fuel injected and has a FADEC. Let's take those one at a time.

FADEC:
This eliminates the mixture control, but the 912ULS already doesn't have a mixture control. So what exactly is the FADEC controlling/optimizing/making easier? What is the benefit of the FADEC in the 912iS vs no FADEC in the 912ULS? What are the Pros of the FADEC? For example, does it make the starting sequence easier/eliminate steps to prime the engine and you merely turn the key/push the button? What else does the FADEC make easier or harder?

Fuel injection:
As I understand it, the only benefit of fuel injection is that it saves fuel by using fuel more efficiently. But fuel injection is also more complicated that carburated so technically the fuel you save could end up canceling itself out by the extra maintenance cost/complexity?

Is there any other benefit to fuel injection besides a tiny fuel savings?

I under the carburated 912ULS will require a synchronization of the carbs roughly once a year/at the annual, but that supposedly takes less than an hour.

Fuel injected also means no carb heat control to deal with. But some planes with a 912ULS don't have a carb heat control, either. So inside the cockpit, they look the same.