What to bring to AirVenture (1st Timer)

KCFly

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
KCFly
OK, I'm a noob and I know it.

I'll be camping, but not on field, about 2-3 miles out.

I know the obvious, sunscreen, hat, good shoes, rain gear...

I'm looking for the "Ive been there 10 years and here's what you HAVE to have" ideas..

Also, is it worth bringing a bike and parking nearby and ride to the gate or should I just park in the $7 lots and be done with it?

Thanks for any and all info/advice/suggestions! I've been flying for a little over 10 years and have held my CFI/CFII/MEI for a bit over 6 now. I am soo looking forward to finally making it to oshkosh. The closest I have gotten was overflying the field on a long IFR XC with a student. We were vectored right over midfield at 4,000 ft. Great view of everyone having a good time. Now I get to enjoy it all and I don't want to miss a thing.

Water bottle (to refill at the free water fountains as opposed to purchasing the $5 20oz H20).
Sunscreen. A lot of people don't realize how exposed you are while walking around drooling over airplanes. Stay hydrated and protected from the sun or you will be miserable the following day/week!

I'd go with the bike. The parking lot isn't all that close and you get to wait in line for a bus coming and going.

As for stuff to bring, I recommend some kind of lightweight folding chair for watching the airshow(s). I usually bring a bike lock and chain it to something in the spectator area in the AM so I don't have to lug it around. I've also considered a spare pair of socks for the day and maybe some comfy insoles for my shoes. All that walking around in the heat takes a toll on the feet.

I'd go with the bike. The parking lot isn't all that close and you get to wait in line for a bus coming and going.