What started out as a nice calm flight....

VictorValencia

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
VictorValencia
Hi Everyone,

I want to share an experience I had this morning. I know what I
did wrong but hopefully some of the newer students might get some
value out of my experience.

First off I am a low-time student pilot. This morning was my 4th solo
flight. I soloed at around 30 hours in a C162. Many moons ago
I accumulated 200 hours in gliders and have my commercial glider
certificate. I have maybe 36 hours in SEL so far.

I live in the SF bay area and train out of Palo Alto (KPAO). The conditions
this morning were winds dead-calm (first hint), temp 70 deg F and clear
skies. I took off around 7:30am and headed for the coast. At the coast I
practiced steep turns and approach stalls. Everything went well and I felt
great. I shot 2 approaches at San Carlos (KSQL) which went perfect for the
most part. I then requested departure to KPAO and worked my way into the
KPAO pattern exactly at TPA. On final, I was right on glideslope and
my _normal_ approach speed of 60 kts (second hint). Nailed everything
down to touchdown. Then I hit a bump in the runway and over-corrected,
bounced, and then began the downward spiral of Pilot Induced Oscillation
(PIO). Each bounce got worse and worse. Holy crap I am in trouble.
I finally realize it's a disaster and perform a go-around. Full power,
carb heat, wait for positive climb, reduce flaps etc. Back up at TPA I gather
myself thinking it was just a fluke.

2nd approach...nailed everything during the approach. During flare I
bounced, and then began the downward spiral of PIO..... There's a pattern
here. I go around again. Now I am truly freaking out. I was not sure I was
going to be able to land the C162. During the PIO I was convinced I was
going to crash. It was a mighty spectacle. I was imagining the controllers
in the tower placing money on the console betting whether or not I would
make it.