What emergency supplies do you carry in your flight bag?

vinlearns2fly

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Student Pilot
Curious about what you you carry in your flight bag other than the usual aviation gear. I don't carry anything for an emergency situation other than the following:
  • A few spare battery packs to charge my gadgets (phone, ADSB-B receiver, iPad)
  • A few AA batteries
  • Handheld VHF radio
  • Headlamp
  • Protein bar
  • Bottle of water

I won't boor you with radios, flares, water, etc. Common knowledge. When I was a military pilot, I was handed a small, compact piece of cloth. It was red and thin, cheap gauzy material. Unfolded it was a foot and half wide by about 10 feet long. Folded and rolled, it was down to an inch or so diameter and weighed in at about an ounce. Outstanding for visual signaling.
Don't forget signal mirrors. Cheap. I once spotted some US Army Rangers' flash at a range of 7+ miles.

3 credit cards, a debit card, and a checkbook.

Tums...because that pizza I am ordering to be delivered, that I am not supposed to have...double jalapeños ... cause I am stuck...never learned my lesson.

Credit cards and a small firearm. Never know where your emergency might occur and you may have to hunt dinner or prevent becoming dinner! :D

Curious about what you you carry in your flight bag other than the usual aviation gear. I don't carry anything for an emergency situation other than the following:
  • A few spare battery packs to charge my gadgets (phone, ADSB-B receiver, iPad)
  • A few AA batteries
  • Handheld VHF radio
  • Headlamp
  • Protein bar
  • Bottle of water
That's basically it but I also have a knife and ACR PLB

small firearm