Weather on the ACS check ride/Oral

jbrinker

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Jbrinker
I spent about a hour+ of my 3 hour study time last night just doing weather again. Reading the ACS and the AIM weather stuff, as well as other sources.

Question is - how deep and in what ways do examiners dig into this? I mean, here's my thoughts:

- I'm a pilot, not a meteorologist. Yes, reading a METAR, TAF, SIGMET/AIRMET etc. should be basically second nature. Looking at the prognositc charts, etc should be used as a tool. BUT - If I'm going somewhere out of my local area, I AM calling for a weather briefing. And those guys really know their stuff.
- I'm also a student, and even as a low-time pilot, my minimums are going to be conservative. If things don't look pretty dang good, I won't be going. Same for a trip someplace, if we get there and two days later when it's time to leave and the weather doesn't look good, we are waiting/scrubbing until it does.

So, basically I feel like I need to know what pieces of information are available. What do they represent, and how to read them. But how much judgement are they looking for beyond that - because again frankly I'm calling FSS and talking to a briefer.

Final question/thought - decoding. I've done so much practice and used actual coded weather for all my XCs lately that I'm getting pretty good at decoding. I can even see that once you "speak the language" it's quite quicker. But there are so many (even official) sources of decoded weather now - do they still expect and REQUIRE decoding of 1955 era teletype METAR stuff? Honestly why? I can get the weather on my ipad, computer, FSS on the phone, all decoded. It seems possibly mistake prone to demand the old way (sort of like the mechanical e6b, it has advantages in some ways, but there are so many other alternatives).