weather flight hazards

classicrock

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
acousticguitar
I am a vfr private pilot in training and I have learned that I dont really like flying in really turbulent conditions read: really gusty, windy conditions. (I fly in the airspace above Houston Tx, and fly out of KDWH). I always check aviationweather.gov before I depart for the airport, because its a 40min drive from home. and I normally text my CFI before I depart for the airport if I think the weather is questionable, to get his opinion.

Recently I also attended a meeting of a local flying club and in attendance was a CFI, I asked the CFI if he would fly in an Airmet Tango. he replied:"no"

question: of the private pilots here, How many will knowingly takeoff and fly in an area with Airmet Tango conditions or if you are on a cross country trip, and find out there is an Airmet Tango along the way, will fly around it if practical or fly straight through it?

For me, an airmet tango on its own is not necessarily a no-go, but it's definitely one data point among many to consider. Do I have a passenger? Am I stuck under a ceiling or airspace that would prevent me from climbing to smoother air? Is it windy? How long is the flight? One strike is not too bad, but they start adding up quickly and eating into my personal margins.

If I'm flying with pax I try to go up on the best days possible. You want to make them as comfortable as you can.

It might make sense for a new pilot to avoid an AIRMET T, but a CFI?

If the AIRMET is for moderate turbulence alone, I'll fly it, as long as it's consistent with the mission (no first time flyers). LLWS, or severe turbulence, maybe not. Most of the time, you can figure out what's up with the turbulence from winds aloft or the skew-T's, and it isn't hard to avoid.

Note that AIRMET T does not include convective turbulence. That's the nasty stuff. No flying around thunderstorms unless I can see them and stay FAR away.