VFR to MVFR/IFR on GoPro--would you post it on YouTube?

TangoWhiskey

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
3Green
Seems like just asking for the Feds to pay you a visit...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nosSl1zV3G8&t=12m30s

I'd post it as a yt link, but the above takes you 12.5 minutes into the video, to the portion in question.

Thoughts? I hate knowing I'm a IFR rated pilot and we have VFR guys punching into clouds without a clearance. :yikes:

And then they post it on YouTube and tell the other VFR guys "that's how you do it, folks!"

:nono::nono: :dunno:

It >might< be arguable whether he actually entered IMC, but he sure was not adhering to VFR cloud separation regulations. In either case, not real smart to do something illegal then post the evidence for all to see.

That guy is Instrument rated.

Edit..I see that is not the question. haha sorry carry on.

Any chance he was in Class B or G?

Or on an SVFR clearance through a Class D?

Last edited:
He was definitely IMC for a while, but was on FF, talking to ATC, with a (presumably) discrete squawk, so not much of a collision hazard. But definitely not smart to post it on YT or tell VFR pilots "that's how you do it!". :no:

Stupid methodology. Head over water and head straight for the deck and maintain maximum clearance under the clouds within gliding range of a nearshore/waterline landing.

I recognize this guy, I have seen several of his videos on YT. He is a skilled pilot but something about him is a little off (I cannot put my finger on it) and needless to say he does not instill much confidence in me.

Well, if someone said it on the internet it must be true, right?

Of course not, but in this case, it's a guy describing what he did himself, and what we see in the video is entirely consistent.

Why would we presume he's lying? It would be to his advantage to say he was indeed on an IFR clearance, but he said "VFR to MVFR."