Useful life of a 20 year old engine

rk

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Rafi
I am in the market for an early model DA40. Some of the listings I am coming across have still a quite a bit of time left on the original engine. For example, one airplane I am looking into has an engine that's 1200 hours since new. That's 800 hours before TBO, and in theory with 100hrs/year flying I should be able to use it for 8 more years.

However, these are 20 year old engines, and they might also haven't been flown that often. So is it realistic to expect that the engine will last till TBO?

There’s really no way to know, but there are things that you can check to improve your chances. I’m not a mechanic and these are just my opinions.

1) Compression check (Lycoming engines should be in the 70s out of 80)
2) Age of cylinders (Date last replaced)
3) Frequency of oil change and oil filter change too!
4) Oil analysis reports
5) Oil burn rate

If a recent cylinder overhaul then your compressions might be higher, this kind of buys you some time till your next overhaul too. Provided no other issues with your engine (such as making metal or burning too much oil).

I have an older engine too, but still some time before TBO (hours wise), compressions are good, it’s not burning too much oil (0.5-1 quart per 10 tach hours). I’m also hoping to get another 500-700 hours on it, but let’s see. I also don’t want to have my engine quit on me either.

Reactions: rk
Certainly get it 'scoped, or even get one of the cheapy electronic cameras and look in the plug holes. If you see pitting or rust rings on the cylinders, it sat for a while. Ours did, so we opted for an overhaul and calculated that when we bought it. Ah, the good old days of $14K field overhauls.