US student pilot logging time in Canada?

Matt

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Matt
A quick google search and search of the forms didn't yield an answer, so hopefully I am not missing something that's been covered here before.

I am a checkride ready student pilot who has been unable to schedule my checkride lately due to being out of the country for work a lot recently. Hoping to get scheduled for mid November. I'll be in Canada (again) in a week and a half and will be staying over a weekend (again...). In looking for things to do in the area while I am here, I came across a flight school the has floatplane training. While I am not actively looking for ASES, I think it would be fun and worthwhile. So... two questions really:

1) Can I log training from a Canadian CFI (or whatever they are called here) toward ASES certificate, just in case I decide to pursue that later?
Also having difficulty deciphering if there are any required additional training in addition to ASEL requirements or if if is just however much training is required to convince a CFI to sign off for the ASES check-ride once I already hold ASEL. Been looking at 61.109, so if that is the wrong place to look, guidance is appreciated.
2) Are floatplanes generally okay to operate as long as the water is not frozen over? Or is there a point where they shutdown prior to the water freezing?

Thanks for the help.

I can tell you that you dont want the spray from the lake to freeze onto the floats, so if the air is below freezing, its a no go. That can happen and the lake not be frozen yet.

Bummer... I guess I'll stay in the hotel all weekend...

Still interested in the logging questio though, as it seems I'll be coming here periodically for a while.

Thanks!