US Air Force - Beech Duchess?

ateamer

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
ateamer
A guy I know was in the military, and claims to have been a pilot in the USAF. I am a bit dubious, because he said he flew the Beech BE-76, which he described as a twin engine turboprop, and said it didn't have much load and was slow. So he got part of it right, but he says that he "flew generals around". He didn't know at the time that I am a pilot when he was making these statements.

Does the USAF use any Beech Duchesses? Seems to me that they wouldn't use a twin trainer as an executive transport. Is a more likely scenario that he attended a flight academy contracted by the USAF for IPT?

[...] he said he flew the Beech BE-76, which he described as a twin engine turboprop, [...]
Say what?!!
Does the USAF use any Beech Duchesses?
I know USAF has at various times used Beech 18's, Barons and King Airs (US Army operated Twin Bonanzas and Queen Airs), but I've not heard of any military Duchesses.

Continue to be skeptical. I can recall seeing a few King Airs in Air Force livery but not any piston stuff ever outside of initial pilot training and the aero clubs.

The Air Force uses King Airs, not Duchesses, to ferry generals around. They call them "C-12's."

Here's the fact sheets for the Air Force's active fleet. I've certainly not seen a light piston twin in the Air Force livery recently.

I've certainly not seen a light piston twin in the Air Force livery recently.

IMG_1304.JPG

Okay, so technically not an USAF plane and not a twin, but it is a light piston airplane painted in Air Force colors. :) This one is owned by the curator of the 1940 Air Terminal Museum.

T-41 Mescalero

Several of these ex-military trainers have ended up in private hands. A few show up at SnF and OSH every year.

IMG_1304.JPG