Upgrading my '76 Archer Interior

SkyVoyager

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
SkyVoyager
I've decided I want to take on the project of updating the seats in my '76 Archer. The previous owner upgraded the side panels and carpets, but the original seat coverings are still there (and now ripping).

I've never done anything like this before, but I'd like to take on the task (especially with the limited flying I'm doing this winter). Is there any guidance out there (internet and/or other sources) that guide a novice through this process?

Thanks!

I've decided I want to take on the project of updating the seats in my '76 Archer. The previous owner upgraded the side panels and carpets, but the original seat coverings are still there (and now ripping).

I've never done anything like this before, but I'd like to take on the task (especially with the limited flying I'm doing this winter). Is there any guidance out there (internet and/or other sources) that guide a novice through this process?

Thanks!

While you're at it, have the seat frames blasted & recoated, and have the webbing replaced.

Easiest & fastest - order seat upholstery you like from Airtex, take seats & upholstery to a local auto interior shop that understands how to do it. Total time - about a week or two. By the way, you can ship the seats to Airtex for the installation, but a good local shop can do the same and much cheaper. I speak from experience.

Other options
A. Ship seats to Oregon Aero - they'll use their temp-sensitive foam, their upholstery (or send then Airtex) and they do everything. Rather expensive but spiffy.

B. Take the old upholstery off VERY CAREFULLY because you'll need it as the pattern. Find a local shop that will use FAA-approved material that you supply, order the heat-sensitive foam from Jim Fixx, let them build new seats. The shop can be either auto, marine or whatever, as long as you supply FAA materials and impress upon them what adhesives to use, etc.