Upgrade my headset to a Bose or buy an Ipad?

Addicted2climbing

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Addicted2climbing
Hello all,

I am a student pilot who is about 75% done with my PPL. I also fly sailplanes and Hangliders...

Anyhow I got my tax return and want to set aside some for eaither a new headset such as a Bose or Lightspeed or an Ipad

Or my other option is an Ipad, Foreflight or winx software and upgrade my ASA headset to noise canceling with a do it yourself kit. (http://www.headsetsinc.com/)

My ASA headset is comfrotable enough, but after 3 hours or so it bothers me where my sunglasses are. The headsetsinc mod requires gell earseals which may help with my only comfort complaint. Also I am at the point where I want to have flight planning information and see the Ipad would be nice to have. Plus I can use it for other things as well. My only concern with the Ipad is I dont want to learn to rely on it. Part of me thinks if during my training I dont have any help it will make me a better pilot. But then again having more information never hurt so long as it is not the distraction equivalent to texting and driving...;)

Unfortunatley I cant afford both the new headset and the ipad, which is why I thought the headsetsinc mod with the ipod was a good alternative...

Curious what others think.

Best regards,

Marc

Ohhhh that's a tough one. I would probably go with a Bose headset. I love my A20's and use it a lot. It's super quiet and has great features.

That said I like my iPad as well, but probably would buy the headset if I was in your shoes.

Protecting your hearing with a good ANR headset has to win this competition. The iPad can wait.

Besides, next year Apple will have something new(er) that will make all the Appleheads drool (more), and then you won't be "stuck" with the "sucky" old model... lol

Protecting your hearing with a good ANR headset has to win this competition. The iPad can wait.