Training in DTLS vs. J-3 Cub

JB1842

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Josh
Training in CTLS vs. J-3 Cub

Noob here about to start taking lessons again after an 8 year training absence (going to get the Sport first then work towards PPL). I am trying to choose which of 2 planes to train in. It costs more to train in the CTLS, but closer to where I live. The Cub is about twice the distance, but a lot cheaper (but the regular rental rate after i get my certificate is a $5 difference between).

My question is, when learning to fly in the CTLS, how much of my training is going to be used learning all the avionics on board? Will learning the systems on the more advanced aircraft add more training time? I have the funds and time right now to get lessons everyday of the week if I can schedule it, so I would rather spend the most of it learning to fly instead of learning the GPS, radios, etc. I understand that comparing each aircraft is like comparing apples to oranges, and that everybody learns at different rates and can take longer hours than others.

Right now I am leaning towards learning in the Cub, both to save some cash and due to the simple fact it seems like (to me anyways) that there is something more "pure" when flying an old-school aircraft without all the bells and whistles. I then plan to use the saved cash to get checked out on the CTLS and have the option of both to build time and to enjoy flying.

Does anybody out there have experience with either/both of these planes, or can give me any input/advice at all? Sorry for the long post. Thanks.

Last edited:
I did my private in a Diamond DA20 that was equipped with a GNS430/SL40/GTX327 stack. For a trainer, this setup is pretty advanced when compared to most of the C152's the school had on the line.

I selected this aircraft because I wanted to learn in a low wing aircraft, not because it had "cool things" on the panel.