Traffic deconfliction at an uncontrolled airspace

G

GoodADMOrNot

I'm flying a high wing airplane.
Pattern altitude is 2300.
Winds favor runway 5.
I'm east-ish and think my best option is to overfly midfield at 2800 and teardrop into downwind 5 left.
I announce position and intentions at 10 miles.
I announce position and intentions at 2 miles.
I then hear traffic departing 5 and planning to make a right turn out which puts them, possibly, heading toward me depending on how 'right' they go.
2 planes do the same thing, one after the other.
I decide to increase my altitude to 3200 just go give me some space just in case.
I see one plane lift off, turn right, then lose sight of him.
I announce my location at 1 mile. Right about that time, one of the departing aircraft passes below me. I'm not very good at estimating distances but he's not close enough to cause any clench response. He's a low wing so I figure he had me in sight, even if he never called it.

Soooo...Good ADM on my part or was there a better/safer way for me to handle the situation?

If you were 10 miles east of a north-east facing runway (5), why would you overfly the airport and tear drop? You should have descended and positioned yourself for a standard 45 degree entry. A 30 degree turn early on would accomplish this.

You need to do a better job with your traffic pattern entry planning farther out.

Last edited:
If you were 10 miles east of a north-east facing runway (5), why would you overfly the airport and tear drop? You should have descended and positioned yourself for a standard 45 degree entry.

You need to do a better job planning you traffic pattern entry planning.
Unless it’s a Right Pattern, that would be incorrect from his position. I would overfly midfield and enter the left down wind AT midfield for 5.

For a visual reference:
8E47ED7B-B032-4F44-98AD-D958BB6D6E9C.jpeg

Last edited: