Tower "short approach"

WoooPigSooie

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
WoooPigSooie
This is from the other thread about ATC, and I didn't want to hijack it, so I've started a new one.

Sometimes the opposite is true. If the airport is busy and the tower controller wants to get you in front of someone coming straight in they will tell you "proceed to the numbers" and stop that time wasting base squaring thing you're doing.

I think this might be what happened to me Saturday. Tower asked me to proceed to base when I was just entering downwind, which was a little confusing, but I just took it he wanted me to expedite my pattern and landing. Then as I got closer to base he asked me to make a short approach. There's quite a bit of traffic you can hear and I knew I was holding folks up. I'm still studying this but I'd be glad to hear any critiques to help me.
This was at PHNL, approaching the airport from the east along the H1 fwy. It was the first time I've ever entered a right downwind for any runway there.

http://youtu.be/H1O_zySRl7I

This is from the other thread about ATC, and I didn't want to hijack it, so I've started a new one.

I think this might be what happened to me Saturday. Tower asked me to proceed to base when I was just entering downwind, which was a little confusing, but I just took it he wanted me to expedite my pattern and landing. Then as I got closer to base he asked me to make a short approach. There's quite a bit of traffic you can hear and I knew I was holding folks up. I'm still studying this but I'd be glad to hear any critiques to help me.
This was at PHNL, approaching the airport from the east along the H1 fwy. It was the first time I've ever entered a right downwind for any runway there.

http://youtu.be/H1O_zySRl7I

Sounds like the tower wanted you to do a short approach.. You did good...

What's the question?