Too close for my comfort

Robert Ryan

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Robert R
Today on a downwind departure a Cirrus passed below and to the right of me within ~100 feet and I had no idea he was there. He had taken off just after me. I'm a student with about 40 hours and was pretty startled when I rolled right and saw him passing below about 25kn faster than me. I get it - the 172 I'm flying was only pushing 85kn as I was climbing out but this seemed a bit reckless. I'd like to get the ADS-B tracks to see how close it actually was but I can't find them online.

I was tracking a coast guard helicopter on a converging course at the same altitude about 1.5 miles out when this happened and managed to stay focused. But honestly I just wanted to turn around and land.

I would say that was rather reckless. Too bad your wake turbulence didn’t force him to pull the red handle. Fly long enough and you will find these pilots. A local drop site has a pilot that will dive to final regardless of where you are in the pattern. I was once base within seconds of turning final and he came from above and completely cut in front of me. I think someone eventually reported him to the FAA.

Today on a downwind departure a Cirrus passed below and to the right of me within ~100 feet and I had no idea he was there. He had taken off just after me. I'm a student with about 40 hours and was pretty startled when I rolled right and saw him passing below about 25kn faster than me. I get it - the 172 I'm flying was only pushing 85kn as I was climbing out but this seemed a bit reckless. I'd like to get the ADS-B tracks to see how close it actually was but I can't find them online.

I was tracking a coast guard helicopter on a converging course at the same altitude about 1.5 miles out when this happened and managed to stay focused. But honestly I just wanted to turn around and land.