Time Logging Question

giaviv

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
giaviv
hey guys,

i'm working on logging hours toward my instrument rating and i am really confused by the definitions. first of all, other than the FAR, is there a good source that explains the different types of time logging options for a private pilot?

i am required to have 50 hours of cross country as PIC and 40 hours of simulated IFR.
1) is the DUAL time i log with my instructor, considering it is a cross country flight, logged as PIC?
2) in general, once i am a private pilot, how is dual time logged? do i log it as PIC in instrument training, flight reviews, general training and so forth?
3) are there and what are my options of logging PIC time with another pilot to bring the costs of the flight down?

thanks!

Your dual as a student is not PIC, however your student solo XCs count toward the 50 for IR.

As a PP, so long as you are rated (category and class), and you are the one manipulating the controls, you can log PIC, whether you have an instructor with you or not. This includes any time with your instructor in real instrument conditions, on an IFR flight plan or anything else. (See the Herman interpretation attached). It also includes things like HP and Complex checkouts.

Now, you can split logging of PIC, but you cannot double-log PIC cross country time. This is done with one pilot under the hood, and the other acting as PIC and being safety pilot. The Gebhart interpretation makes it clear you cannot both log cross country for this, however.

Attachments

• Herman.pdf
    90.2 KB · Views: 14
  • Gebhart.pdf
    101.4 KB · Views: 13
One clarification. Your 40 hours do not have to be simulated. Once you have the basics down it's perfectly acceptable to get actual IFR experience with your CFII. Late in my training I got some night actual IFR and actual approaches. Got to fly a non precision to real minimums. About 10 hrs was actual IFR.