Time for a Facelift?

bjohnsonmn

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
bjohnsonmn
Hello!
I realize that this may be considered heresy, but I believe the forums and the logo need an update. While I am not a graphic designer, and my is busy creating other logos for other organizations I am a part of (You should see the restaurant list she's created for me to take her to), I am sure there are talented folks on the forums who could come up with a good design.

Also, is there a more modern look and feel for the forum software?

Lastly, perhaps it is time to update the top level posts. While I wouldn't think it is wise to turn the front into something like that which can be found on www.avsim.com, perhaps more timely information than maintenance done in 2006 would be in order. If forums like this can be updated to look fresh, and modern, perhaps we can draw more interest from the younger group of not-yet aviators!

My $0.02

Thanks,
Brad

We've started a discussion in the Management Council about this topic.

Concept 1:

Logos_Concept1-PoAForums.jpg

Concept 2:

Logos_Concept2-PoAForums.jpg

Last edited:
I object to anything that makes more work for the Management Council or anyone else. I think they already do more than enough for what we pay them.

Lets just double there pay then :)

I think the management council does an excellent job. Maybe the members could come up with new logos and have the members comment on them.

change for the sake of change doesn't seem to make sense.

I like both of those! The runway on the second one is nice too--subtle, almost missed it.

Can you show us a combination of the two?

The US flag code would strongly discourage the first one...

I really like the second one though

I like the second one. The runway/airplane is clever. Along with the R/W/B colors, it goes well with the forum's name.

but to be honest, I still like the original logo. :dunno: