Thoughts on Grumman AA-1B/C safety?

samiamPA

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
samiamPA
Any thoughts on the safety of the AA-1B/C? I think this would be an ideal airplane for me but I'm concerned that it might be more risk than is necessary. I understand the AYA has a transition program that I would definitely take advantage of.

I owned an AA1-B and I loved it. I was a low hour pilot at the time and it was my first airplane I ever purchased. I never had any issues. When you say more risk than necessary are you talking safety or maintenance or what?

Curious on your question as well. I've always heard they were easy flying, great planes.

Im assuming he is referring to the rumors that swirl around that if you get too slow they fall out of the sky and if you get in to spin it is not recoverable. I think that was mainly the AA1 due to the wing design but the AA1-B was a great little plane. I have the original O-235 with 108HP so it was lethargic on climb but it would outrun a 152 in level flight on less fuel. I has always wished I have the O290 or O320, that would be an amazing plane.

Yeah, I was referring to the higher stall speed and spin issues. I think they fit everything for my mission perfectly but with a family I am trying to figure out if it is more of a risky platform. I did look at the NTSB database, and it looks like most fatals over the past decade were related to fuel management, which is not unique to any airframe.

It helps to hear that actual owners do not find them "squirrelly."

I loved it, not squirrely at all and I used to fly with my kids. The fuel thing I can see because the fuel level in the sight gauge is jot completely accurate due to angle of the plane and turbulence. I had a fuel flow 450 which helped alot.