Thinking of buying a C150 for time building

razorseal

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
razorseal
Hey gents,

New member here...

I am a private/ifr pilot that got my ratings back in 07-08.... I left aviation and got into law enforcement and military instead of following my flying dreams back then...

Fast forward to 2023, I got the itch and with everything going on in law enforcement, and what's happening in the aviation field, I want to get back into flying.

I found a very good gig flying charter jets, but they want 1000 before they will hire me. I am currently at just shy of 400 hours. I haven't flown in over a decade, so I "lost the touch". I started getting some training again and hoping to get the feeling back soon.

I want to then build some time. I've been looking at some time building programs, but they want you to fly 6-8 hours a day, 6-7 days a week. I can't do that. I have a full time job and can't quit it (or take that much time off as I'm in admin portion and they can't have me leave that long) to get the time that fast. Plus it isn't the least expensive thing (around 90 bucks an hour in a C150, so if I share, around $45, hoping I can find someone to fly 600 hours with me).

That being said, I wasn't considering buying a plane until now. I have about $30,000 available to use to purchase a plane. The rest I will put aside for fuel and maintenance. I found a local airport tie down for $135 a month.

I feel like if I buy a plane, fly 600 hours (and find some people willing to fly and pay my gas as I provide the plane as much as I can) and resell and knock on wood, no major issues, I might be way better off getting my hours then putting it away into a time building program with speed I really can't match.

Can someone help me out with this thought process?