The road to CFI....

Chrisj13

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Chrisj13
Several years ago I started studying to become a CFI, but to be quite honest the amount of material seemed overwhelming. I printed out every task, printed out the reference materials relative to those tasks, and made quite a few lesson plans. In the end, I had 3 huge binders of material. I looked at it all on the table, said "How in the hell am I going to learn all of this?!" and put it in the closet.
Now, I need to get serious about it. I'm on the downhill side of a Masters degree, and will soon have the time to devote to it. My question is: How did you all (who are CFI's) go about studying ALL this material? Solo? With a friend? I'll be doing this 100% part 61, and it seems to me that a college class is really the only sane way to do it. Any advice or input? I think it's just gonna take a massive amount of time and dedication...what say you?

One bite at a time.

You don't have to know everything. You have to know where to find everything.

Other techniques: hang out at your flight school and have folks ask you questions.

You have a college background,it should not be too difficult.you could go to A part 141 school,get the ticket then continue to study and refine your teaching skills. Or break the tasks down into pieces,and treat them like different classes,like college.

I taught lessons to my mom. She has absolutely no aviation background. I taught her basic aerodynamics, airplane systems, weather theory, etc. If you can get someone who has no aviation background to understand what you're saying then you are making progress. Study material wise, I really only used the Airplane Flying Handbook, Pilots Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge and Aviation Instructor's Handbook. I looked the PTS and mad sure I included everything in lesson plans. The CFI is not about how you fly, it's about how you teach. Good luck!