The one thing I wish someone told me when I was a student

cgrab

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
cgrab
Simple rules of this thread one line with maybe an explanation for students to skim through.

I wish I was told to wear a shirt with a pocket and put the plane's keys in the shirt pocket.

It was always embarrassing to sit in the plane and have to squirm to get eh keys out of my jeans pocket.

If there is something in your ground school that doesn't click, ask for it to be demonstrated in the air. This brings context to the learning and I find that very useful to retaining the item.

Instead of doing a ground school review, instead take the approach of teaching it to the instructor. You will find out how much you don't know.

Don’t be afraid of ****ing off ATC. They exist to provide a service to pilots. Don’t intentionally **** them off on the radio, but on these forums it’s fair game.

But also remember that you aren't the ONLY pilot they are providing service to and what goes around, comes around. ;)

Taking lessons sporadically and infrequently is a waste of money. If you don't have money to spare, or simply want to get the most value for your dollar, don't start until you're reasonably sure you have the time and money to fly at least twice a week consistently with your CFI, and maybe one or two more times additionally per week solo once you've been signed off, until you are ready for your checkride.

It's times like this I wish I had listened to what my mother told me when I was little.

“no no, young eman, some people CHOOSE to fly high wings.....”

c89d798f7d50a28e35ce58099df9340d.jpg