The International Tin Whisker Symposium

I'm surprised that a whisker like that could carry enough current to short out the contacts without melting. Neat stuff.

Tin whiskers and solder balls - it's the end of the world as we know it.

--

When the powers-that-be decided to remove lead from solder, tin whiskers became a big problem.

Attachments

• TinWhiskers460x276.jpg
    TinWhiskers460x276.jpg
    30.3 KB · Views: 35
Last edited:
Just to be fair.

Unintended acceleration was invented by James Watt, not Audi or Toyota.

Guess what happens when the belt breaks.

Last edited:
One of the reasons I don't trust electronics is that I am an electrical engineer, and I know that stuff can go wrong!

I'm surprised that a whisker like that could carry enough current to short out the contacts without melting. Neat stuff.
Not all connections require a lot of current; 10 megohm of resistance in the wrong spot can be just as upsetting as a dead short. Tin whiskers are bad news in the space world, and the rise of lead-based solder is a big headache (since it has more tin). Vendors don't want the hassles involved, and you're really got to ride herd on them.

Ron Wanttaja

I don't know why they use this technology in the first place. Why can't they use a freaking cable? There are only two failures associated with the cable, either it sticks and the throttle stays constant, or it breaks and the throttle spring closes the throttle automatically. Neither of those involve the throttle going WFO all of a sudden.

I don't know why they use this technology in the first place. Why can't they use a freaking cable? There are only two failures associated with the cable, either it sticks and the throttle stays constant, or it breaks and the throttle spring closes the throttle automatically. Neither of those involve the throttle going WFO all of a sudden.

Except for the times when it does go WFO.

Broken motor mounts, other things that I don't recall off the top of my head.