The "Hand of God" - or how to become a generic NTSB report

Lndwarrior

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Gary
I've been flying for 30 years. I've flown my homebuilt 601XLB from California to the east coast and back. I'm not the most experienced pilot, but I have been doing it a while.

I have had the living crap scared out of me more than once in turbulence, including a nightmare in the mountain valley south of Sedona two years ago.

There are 5 or 6 times in my 30 years of flying when dying was a very real possibility. But a flight early this week was the worst. I'm still feeling a little over-whelmed about how close we came to dying.

Linda and I flew to Livermore California for a round of golf at Los Positas Golf Course. The two weather briefings for there and back were about as perfect as you could want. No adverse weather, cool temps in the 70's, the surface winds all along the route in the 5 to 7 knot range. Winds aloft were "light and variable" for the whole day. This light and variable continued up to 6000 feet which would be above our max altitude for both flights.

There was no forecast for either high altitude or low altitude turbulence for the entire day. There were zero pilot reports of turbulence either, anywhere in California.

The flight there was, as my wife put it, "boring". She even commented that she “liked a few bumps". If she only knew what was to come…

We had a fun golf game and as we climbed back in the plane two hours later the wind was still around 7 knots, with no real gusts.

As we climbed out for the return flight there was significant turbulence. It was very uncomfortable. I expected that once we got thru the Altamont Pass and out into the Central Valley, things would calm down. Instead, it got worse.