The fill the fuel Conundrum

drotto

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
drotto
As a training pilot, I was wondering how people deal with this issue. The FAA, plane rental people, clubs, etc all recommend that you fill your tanks at the end of every flight. Fine it make perfect sense to me. From a safety standpoint it keeps water out of the system. From a courtesy standpoint, if you will not be the next person using the plane, it is nice to leave it ready to go. I get it. From a practical standpoint where most 4 place planes are really 3 place, and most 6's are really big 4's, what do you do with the actual fuel if filling the seats is more important than filling the tanks?

I go get my rental plane, but a want to take 4 people up ( including me), more than likely 15 to 20 gallons will need to come out of the tanks, if the people are the magic FAA 170 lbs. How do I get that fuel out? Where do I put it?

I often fill my airplane to the tabs, which is about 36 gallons. Gives them a bit of breathing room without really affecting range for most of our trips

Most rentals will fly enough that the water issue will not be and issue, and personally I don't think its an issue anyway. I think if they fill it up before your rental without you telling them to then they have done you a disservice. I know they are trying to help, but you are right that sometime you just cant take out the fuel.

I don't fill my a/c up until I know what I need to use it for next. Just my 2 cents

That is why I have a Siphon hose and 6 - 5 gal gas tanks.