Tailwheel training...ideal world question

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
I have to admit I'm both fascinated, and a little scared of flying tailwheel. I'm just a student, grew up with my dad flying C172, learning now on a Piper Warrior II.

I am guessing that most flying clubs, and training happens in tricycle gear planes because of a few things. That when manufacturers like Cessna started making them, it was so they would be easier to fly, and then clubs bought them, and it was easier to handle for students, who generally were only really given the option to tri-gear.

BUT...in an ideal world, would it be better overall to teach a new student tailwheel, later on transition to tri gear? I know tailwheel is more demanding on being precise on the ground, landing, because of ground loop. Other than that imo not sure, if it flies differently, or at least on takeoff since the AOA at least as you start ground roll is different and you have to lift the tail?

I think after I get my PPL I am very interested in learning tailwheel. A little scared of it too.
I know my club has a couple of them, and ought to check even if they even do training in them. Or if they have all the instruments one needs for training for PPL. If possible, I have so little training so far I think I could go over after taking my exam, and maybe it isn't a dumb thing to consider.

It seems to me though, a new student, one that gets somewhat proficient finally in tri-gear and feel like they have the techniques, it would be harder to go over to the more demanding tailwheel? Need quicker responses to rudder, etc? Nothing is "normal" but I feel like going the other way from tailwheel to tri, would be a piece of cake.

Ok. I'd bet cash money that I have a lot of wrong assumptions here. (This was all just a get rich quick scheme, but I can't find any takers betting I don't have wrong assumptions)