Tailwheel landing tips

FlylikeaGirl

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Tiffany
I'm a pretty new pilot and am working toward my tailwheel endorsement.

I am still not very consistent with my landings. Besides practice, does anyone have any tips on tailwheel airplane landings?

I know this is a thing I will just have to get a feel for, but thought I would tap into the collective knowledge here, too.

Thanks!
Tiffany

No difference. Near as I can tell, a three point is pretty much just like a "normal" nosedragger landing. So don't over think it. (But, I do admit that my nosewheel experience is limited.)

The hard part is setting it down smoothly - just like with a nosewheel. After that, the difference is that you have to keep it straight yourself. (OK, you really want to touch down straight too.)

A couple little things, hold it at the three point attitude before touchdown, get the stick all the way back once the tail is down, releasing the pressure on the pedals doesn't stop a turn.

Yeah, don't ball up the airplane. The rest is just style points. :) A timely application of full power is your best friend when a landing or landing roll starts going south. You've asked a pretty wide open question. Anything more specific?

I find that for 3 pt, don't try and land the plane. Try and fly just above the runway, and keep it flying in a 3pt attitude. It will land when its ready and not bounce. Keep the airspeed to a safe minimum to avoid float. If I try and rush it or put it down myself, it will bounce. Keeping it smooth and straight comes with practice. If its been a while, my first landing can be feel a little "darty". After that, I get use to the pedals quickly and they feel much smoother. Stick all the way back once all three are on the ground.