T storms and flight planning. What level is too high for you?

drotto

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
drotto
I am a newly minted IFR pilot, and am planning my first trip that may include some IMC based on longer range forcasts (3 days out right now). I am very conservative at this point with my personal minimums.

So three days out my departure area looks good, and my arrival area is predicting partly sunny with scattered thunderstorms possible. I have flexibility in the day I can leave. Also being on the east coast, I realize that if we waited in the Summer for a day with no predicted thunderstorms we would never fly. Also if I depart and the weather does not agree I plan on diverting and wait it out for a few hours.

At what point of predicted thunderstorms do people push their flight plans to another day, or decide to drive?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

I’m in NC and regularly (1-2-3/month) fly up and down the east coast.

Strong cold fronts or a really messy stationary\occluded with embedded storms are really the only things that will move me off a day, a day or more in advance.

Otherwise, a forecast of scattered storms is almost always a wait, see, pick a time and route, and go take a look. Usually things can be improved by moving the flight earlier in the day.

I file high, get well above cloud base and stay visible most of the time. I bust convective non-storming clouds only when I can see where and when I come out. That happens frequently on climbs and descents. Less frequently to turn corners and penetrate benign buildups with blue sky on the other side.

Flying in a convective cloud is never fun. I never penetrate a storm cloud or line.

I know flying high is not always practical in NE airspace and on short routes. Easy to do after you get out of congested airspace.