Suspected Carb Ice...Rare Magneto Failure

KE5BM

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Ross
Good Day! I'm a low-time pilot, less than 100 hours having just earned my certificate in April 2023. Last week, I reserved a C172 from the FBO at my home field. It was the kind of day VFR pilots wish for. CAVU, -1800 density altitude, about 40°F and 60% humidity. I was planning on doing a couple hours in the air with some air drills, work on my landings and get some aerial surveillance of a treacherous inlet that has shifted quite a bit after two strong storms had blown through. I offered up to my crew if anyone wanted to go along they were more than welcome and to no surprise, one of our newest crewmen who'd reported less than a week prior wanted to go for a ride. Perfect! He's going to be a boat driver so I can show him from the air some of the waterways of most concern.

About two hours prior to my flight, the FBO called and asked if I'd be willing to take a different aircraft. They had originally scheduled me with the 1963 model C172D that every student here seems to prefer and someone wanted to get a lesson in last-minute. No worries...5 planes to choose from. They offered me the C172K that I did most of my training and my checkride in. I like that plane better anyway so no worries. Now, this time of year the planes aren't getting worked near as much as they do in the summer. During the summer months, the rental fleet is doing triple duty between training, aerial tours, and rentals. In the winter it's mostly on-demand. So, being the prudent guy I am I looked up the ADS-B records to see the last time my plane had flown. The night prior, it was brought over from Nantucket after some minor interior work had been done.