Survey: Biggest Waste of Money in Aviation

JustinPinnix

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Justin
So, I was fumbling through the holiday gift guide of a popular mail-order aviation supply company. It got me thinking, what's the biggest waste of money in aviation?

For me it has to be the handheld radio. I bought one of these suckers after my 2nd lesson and spent enought money for 6 hours of plane rental time on it. Five years and 550 hours later, I've yet to actually need it for anything.

I still carry it on IFR flights, but for a primary student it's useless, unless you're flying something that doesn't have a radio.

Um.... a handheld radio and gps are like term life insurance, a complete waste of money until you need them, at which time they're worth FAR more than you paid for them. I got a lot of value from listening to my handheld at nearby airports when I was a student - I learned what to say (and what NOT to say) on the radio that way.

What Timothy said, seconded.

My handheld was a piece of ballast, complete surplusage, until a week ago today, at which point it became a vital piece of equipment, my only means of communicating. Burning smell and smoke, electrical short to ground, master off and no radios.

Glad I had it, glad it was charged, and I renewed my intent to buy an appropriate portable GPS Real Soon Now.

Money (and not all that much, in the aviation scheme of things) well spent.

Comm failure VFR: Go land at an uncontrolled field, such as the one where my avionics shop is.

IFR: OK, the handheld is the best option, if you bothered to have an external antenna installed so it will actually work in the plane. I have also heard of people using their cell phones to call the tower. There's always the IFR lost-comm procedures that we are all quizzed about on every BFR.